Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Miami, Florida

 Miami Car Accident Laws

Get a free consultation now
Miami Car Accident Laws

In 2021, there were 62,536 traffic accidents in Miami-Dade County, FL. The accidents included 352 fatalities and 28,706 injuries. There were 21.33% more car accidents in Miami-Dade from 2020 to 2021.

You could be entitled to compensation for your damages if another driver caused the car crash. Our Miami car accident lawyers at Shaked Law Personal Injury Lawyers have won hundreds of millions of dollars for our clients since 2007. We’ll fight to get you the maximum compensation for your car accident claim.

Call our law firm at (305) 937-0191 today to schedule a free consultation to discuss your collision in Miami, Florida. 

How Our Miami Personal Injury Lawyers Can Help If You’ve Been Injured in a Car Accident

How Our Miami Personal Injury Lawyers Can Help If You’ve Been Injured in a Car Accident

Our Florida personal injury lawyers do not just even the playing field when negotiating with large insurance companies and defense firms. We give you an advantage. 

Our top-rated personal injury lawyers have more than 100 years of combined experience handling accident claims. We have won thousands of cases. Our law firm has considerable resources to investigate and pursue your personal injury claim.

When you hire the award-winning legal team at Shaked Law Personal Injury Lawyers, you can expect us to:

  • Investigate the cause of the car accident to gather evidence proving fault
  • Document your damages to evaluate how much your case is worth
  • Work with expert witnesses to strengthen the evidence in your case
  • File insurance claims and negotiate fair settlements
  • File a lawsuit and argue your case before a jury, if necessary

We are dedicated to helping Miami car accident victims get the justice they deserve. Contact our law office to schedule your free case evaluation with an experienced car accident lawyer in Miami, FL.

Florida Car Insurance Requirements 

Florida laws require drivers to have a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance coverage. PIP is no-fault insurance. Therefore, each driver files claims with their PIP insurance providers after a car accident, regardless of who was responsible.

You can file a claim against the at-fault driver if you sustain serious injuries. However, Florida drivers are not required to purchase liability insurance. Therefore, many drivers purchase additional insurance coverage that applies if they are involved in a car accident and the other driver does not have liability insurance. 

PIP insurance requirements do not apply to motorcycles. Therefore, motorcyclists should consider purchasing insurance to protect themselves. 

Requirements to Report Car Accidents in Miami, FL

Florida statutes require a Florida Traffic Crash Report to be filed by a police officer when the accident involves:

  • $500 or more in property damage
  • A drunk driver
  • Personal injury or death
  • A hit-and-run driver
  • Commercial motor vehicles
  • A vehicle that is inoperable after a crash

The fastest way to report a car accident is by calling 911. Most car crashes cause at least $500 in damage and some type of injury. Therefore, it is usually best to report a car accident to the police from the accident scene. 

What Is the Deadline to File a Car Accident Lawsuit in Miami, Florida? 

The statute of limitations for most car accident lawsuits is two years if the collision occurred on or after March 24, 2023. The deadline is four years if the accident occurred before March 24, 2023.

However, exceptions to the statute of limitations can change the deadline. Therefore, call our office promptly after a car accident to avoid problems with filing deadlines. 

How Do Comparative Fault Laws Affect Miami Car Accident Cases? 

Florida recently changed its comparative fault laws for personal injury cases. Under these rules, your compensation can be reduced by your level of fault for causing the accident.

However, if you are more than 50% to blame for the car accident, you cannot receive any money for your claim. If you are 50% or less at fault, you can receive a portion of your damages based on your level of responsibility.

What Damages Are Available After Miami Car Accidents? 

Most car accident victims can receive compensation for economic damages, including:

However, you may not be limited to financial losses. 

You could receive compensation for non-economic damages, such as:

  • Permanent impairments and disabilities
  • Mental anguish and emotional distress
  • Loss of enjoyment of life
  • Physical pain and suffering
  • Disfigurement and scarring
  • Diminished quality of life

In a small number of cases, the injured party can receive punitive damages. However, the level of proof required for punitive damages is higher than for compensatory damages. 

Our Miami personal injury lawyers aggressively pursue all types of damages in a car accident case. We exhaust all sources of compensation to maximize recovery. 

Schedule a Free Consultation With Our Miami Car Accident Attorneys

You deserve to be compensated fully for all damages caused by a negligent driver. Call us today at (305) 937-0191 to schedule a free case review with one of our Miami car accident attorneys. We will take care of the legal case while you focus on healing from your injuries.

Common Miami Car Accident Claims We Handle

Our law firm handles all types of car accident claims involving:

Additional Car Accident Resources

Car Accident FAQs