How to Find out If Someone Has Car Insurance in Miami, FL
March 24, 2022 | Sagi Shaked | Car Accidents
If you have been involved in a car accident in the state of Florida, you may feel overwhelmed and uncertain about what to do. In these instances, it is critical to determine whether the other motorists involved have auto insurance.
Ideally, you should collect this information before you leave the scene of the car crash. In some cases, it may be impossible to get insurance information from the others involved.
Below, we will discuss how you can determine whether a driver has auto insurance in Miami.
PIP and PDL Insurance Requirements
When a motorist registers a vehicle in the state of Florida, they are required to show proof of two types of insurance coverage. Drivers must show that they have both personal injury protection (PIP) insurance and property damage liability (PDL) insurance policies.
Personal injury protection policies cover 80% of any necessary medical expenses from an accident injury, with a limit of $10,000 for basic coverage. PDL policies cover the vehicular and property damages caused by a traffic accident.
Florida drivers are required to carry a minimum of $10,000 in both PDL and PIP coverage. This insurance coverage is required even if a vehicle is not driven regularly.
How to Determine if a Miami, FL Driver Has Auto Insurance
The best way to determine whether a driver has insurance coverage is simply to ask. In most cases, the drivers involved in a crash will provide you with their insurance information upon request.
When asking for someone’s insurance information, it is important to stay calm. It is normal for emotions to run high in the aftermath of a Miami traffic accident.
If the other driver is cooperative, make sure to collect the following information:
- Email address
- Telephone number
- Name of insurance provider
- Insurance policy number
Unfortunately, asking the other motorist is not always an option. If you are unable to collect information about a driver’s insurance coverage by asking, don’t worry—you have other options.
For specific questions about how to determine a driver’s insurance coverage status, speak with a knowledgeable car accident attorney.
Speak with Law Enforcement
If you need information about a specific Miami driver’s insurance coverage, you can ask the police. Law enforcement agencies will provide you with this information if you have a legitimate reason, such as being involved in a collision.
You may need to provide the license plate number to recover this information from a law enforcement agency. According to recent research, nearly 13% of U.S. drivers do not have auto insurance.
Rates of uninsured drivers are even higher in Florida. That is why it is critical to ensure that other motorists have insurance coverage following a car accident. This is especially true if you were not at fault for the car crash.
Other Options to Determine a Driver’s Insurance Status
If you are unable to get the information that you need from the local police department, you still have options. The Miami-Dade Department of Motor Vehicles can help you recover this information as long as you have some basic facts about the vehicle you’re inquiring about.
You will need to provide verifiable contact information to the DMV and offer a reason for the request. When a driver provides fraudulent information, the DMV will deny the request.
Under most circumstances, motorists’ information is protected by privacy statutes. However, the DMV will provide you with insurance information if you were involved in an accident with that motorist.
If possible, take the police accident report with you to the Department of Motor Vehicles. You should also make sure to provide them with the license plate number of the other driver’s vehicle to ensure that the policy information is correct.
Contact Our Car Accident Law Firm in Miami, FL
If you’ve been injured in an accident in Miami, FL, and need legal help, contact our car accident attorneys in Miami to schedule a free consultation. At Shaked Law Personal Injury Lawyers, we are available 24/7 to take your call.
Shaked Law Personal Injury Lawyers
20900 NE 30th Ave Suite 715
Aventura, FL 33180