Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Miami, Florida

Miami Personal Injury Blog

Get a free consultation now

What Are Florida Motorcycle Permit Restrictions?

What Are Florida Motorcycle Permit Restrictions?

Florida has a somewhat unusual system for permitting and licensing motorcycle riders. If you are over the age of 18, you don’t need a permit in the Sunshine State; you can get a license directly without any intermediary steps. However, if you are 16 or 17, you can only get a license if you first get a Learner’s License, also referred to as a permit.

Here is what you need to know about motorcycle permit restrictions in Florida.

Getting a Motorcycle Permit in Florida

Surprisingly, even though Florida offers motorcycle-only licenses, it does not offer motorcycle-only permits. The permit you get before getting a motorcycle license is the same permit you get before getting a traditional license.

To get a permit, you must:

  • Be at least 15 years old
  • Have a signed parental consent form
  • Pass a standard vision and hearing test conducted by the DMV
  • Complete a course on substance abuse and traffic laws
  • Pass a standard driver’s license written exam
  • Provide the DMV with proof of identity using accepted documents

Once you have fulfilled these requirements, you can drive a car or motorcycle in Florida with certain restrictions.

Motorcycle Permit Restrictions

The restrictions for driving a vehicle with a Florida permit are similar to the restrictions of driving with a permit in any other state. For example, you can only drive your vehicle in Florida and only while accompanied by a driver with a Florida license who is at least 21 years old. 

Also, for the first three months, you may only drive during daylight hours. After this period, you may drive during night hours, but only until 10 p.m.

Florida law doesn’t directly state why the permit restrictions for riding a motorcycle and driving a car share similarities. Likely, the restrictions of a permit are considered strict enough that motorcyclists don’t need additional restrictions while driving under a permit.

Upgrading To a Motorcycle License

According to Florida motorcycle laws, you can potentially get a motorcycle license as early as 16 years old. However, motorcycle licensing requirements are slightly more extensive than those for getting a standard driver’s license.

First, you must have completed all of the standard requirements for upgrading to a traditional license from a permit. This means that you must have avoided traffic citations for at least one year and completed at least 50 hours of supervised driving. 

At least 10 of those hours must have been during night hours. Additionally, you must pass the standard driver’s license test again.

However, motorcycle drivers have additional requirements. You must pass either the Basic RiderCourse (BRC) or the Basic RiderCourse Updated (BRCu). These courses aren’t just required for people with permits. Even if you are old enough to skip a permit, you are required to pass one of these courses to get your motorcycle license.

Why Motorcycle License Requirements Are More Extensive

The requirements for getting a motorcycle license are more strict because motorcycle accidents are significantly more likely to be deadly than car accidents, even if you are wearing a helmet and using all available protective gear. The State of Florida wants to avoid as many catastrophic and fatal accidents as possible.

Obeying Florida Motorcycle Permit Restrictions Is Worth Your Effort

Driving a motorcycle in Florida involves abiding by certain restrictions, including when it comes to permits. However, if you obey the restrictions and drive safely, the state rewards you with a motorcycle license that you can get as early as your 16th birthday. This is a reward that is well worth the effort involved.

Contact Our Motorcycle Accident Law Firm in Miami, FL

If you’ve been injured in an accident in Miami, FL and need legal help, contact our Miami motorcycle accident lawyers at Shaked Law Personal Injury Lawyers to schedule a free consultation.

Shaked Law Personal Injury Lawyers
20900 NE 30th Ave Suite 715
Aventura, FL 33180
(305) 937-0191